Humor: Adventures in Cat Land

Our new cat MieshkaI don’t know if I mentioned this or not, but we have a few cats… and now you can add one more to the mix.  Yesterday, my wife (Truthoughts) and I had just come home from some afternoon errands (woo-hoo) when we discovered the cutest little cat, almost a kitten, peeking out from behind the shrubs in our front yard. 

Well, it doesn’t take much to melt our hearts, but honestly, isn’t she a beautiful kitty?  She immediately came over and started the traditional figure-eight between our legs.  How someone could not love cats just baffles me, but needless to say, we both fell in love with her immediately… but wait?!? Hold on a minute… who’s cat is this?She was so hungry

Time for a reality check.  You can’t just take a cat in just because it wandered up to your door, right?  So, I suggested to my wife that she get some food and water to see if the kitty-cat was interested.  Well, no sooner then she brought out the little food bowl, little miss, what’s-your-name-kitty just dove right in and started chowing down the food like Tom Hanks upon catching his first fish in Cast Away.

Cats thatShe kept eating till it was gone. are well taken care of just aren’t that hungry.  They may take a nibble but they certainly don’t act like their in some intramural, university food eating contest.  This poor cat was starving.  But, still, I cautioned that maybe she was just stopping by, that we should give it some time and see if she might just mosey along back to her own home.

Four hours later, we went to the front door and opened it to see our new friend sprawled out on the porch as if she owned the place.  This is typical cat behavior as cats know,  better than humans, that they run the household.  Its because they know they can get their humans to do just about anything for them with the right look that says, “Don’t you just want to cuddle me?”  If that doesn’t work, they usually try the “I’m-going-to-flop-myself-right-down-on-top-of-whatever-you-are-working-on-because-I-want-attention-now.” approach.How cute is she?

So there she is, attached to our house as if its her refuge, her place to call home, and it only took hanging around for four hours to accomplish the task. Well, ok, IF we are going to keep her, we are going to have to give her a bath and get some flea powder because that’s one circus we don’t want coming to town.

Oh my, if you could have seen the look of terror in her eyes the moment she got the slightest drop of water on her.  I wasn’t sure if she was going to climb right up my arm and leave the type of tracks that only a cat could be proud of or grab a hold of my pant with a death grip that even the jaws of life couldn’t free.

She finally settled on hugging the faucet for dear life as I soaked her fur, causing it to cling to her petite little body like Seran wrap around Sunday’s potluck leftovers.  When we got her dried off somewhat, suddenly everything was back to normal and she started purring and wanting more attention.  I was quite relieved as I was worried that this being her introduction into our house, she was going to have some serious sStill eating!econd thoughts about wanting to call this home.

Currently she’s upstairs in the guest bath so that other cats can warm up to her and get to know her underneath the door before we allow her to roam amongst them.  So, with the addition of one more cat, that brings the total to, well, one more than we had.  :)

If you enjoyed this story, you might like to read my other humorous story about how I was able to train our cats, which is certainly a feat in itself:

You Can Tune a Piano, But You Can’t Tuna Cat, Or Can You?

Here’s another little treat for your enjoyment from my friend known as “ThriftShopRomantic”:

The Insidious Submissive Fluffy Belly Enticement Snare- or- Pavlov’s Human

Have a wonderful day!  You’re more than welcome to stumble upon the rest of my blog. You shall certainly enjoy your time here… I guarantee it, or your money back!

 

 

 

 

5 Responses

  1. If it showed up yesterday, that’s okay – just don’t take a stray in that show’s up on Halloween… We called him Kitty- Vicious, oh he wasn’t when he first came lovingly in the house, and sat so beautiful, purred and just wanted love.

    He was a flame point siamese – gorgeous after we cleaned him up..but OMG – he terrorized our other cats for 2 years….

  2. Well, it sounds to me like she new what she was doing when she picked you and your home as a refuge. I often think animals pick humans more than humans pick animals. They know who is safe and who isn’t. Boy, I all I can say is she made a good choice. Food, bath and love. What more could any of us want? LOL :) :)

  3. Wow – what a heart-warming post ! You guys are just awesome !
    I followed this story from your tweet that she’s expecting babies !

    I’ll be looking forward to reading more about her.

  4. @Susie: Thanks for the comment. Sorry to hear about the terrorizer… Yikes! We have one really cuddly, adorable grey cat, who loves to terrorize our black and white tuxedo kitty. See, the story here http://outsidemybrain.wordpress.com/2008/06/29/humor-adventures-in-cat-land-part-2/

    @RainforestRobin: Thank you so much for the kind words. I believe that’s true. I definitely think she knew what she was doing, or was gently urged by God, to show up on our doorstep… and now, to find out she’s preggers… oh my, it can’t be an accident!

    @Jaffer: Thanks for commenting and for typing such nice things. We will definitely keep you updated… so stay tuned!

  5. [...] known as Mieshka, who showed up on our door step… pregnant, by clicking here:  Mieshka’s Story.  We had no idea that she was carrying baby kittens when we took her in.  What a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

