10 Signs You’ve Become a Twitter Whore!

twitter_logo

While building up my favorite Tweets list for the next installment of “The Funniest Tweets I’ve Seen on Twitter“, it just hit me that there are certain activities that are taking place on Twitter in the biggest “follower grab” in the history of the internet.  Reminiscent of the Oklamhoma land grab or the California Gold Rush, there seems to be a “mad dash” to grab as many Twitter followers as you can, as fast as you can.

If you haven’t gotten caught up in the excitement, I had better warn you that it is quite addicting.  As I created this list, funny how it came to me so easily… hmmm… I realized that I myself am guilty of a few of these tell tale signs.  So, sit back and enjoy the laugh and know that if you can associate with one or more of these, you are in good company!

Here are 10 sure-fire signs you’ve become a Twitter whore:

10.  Your Tweets have more than two hash tags: #HappyO9, #TCOT, #bedtimestories, #blacklabs that don’t seem to be related.

9.  You get a really nice DM repsonse back, but you have no clue what they are talking about, because you can’t link back to your original DM.

8.  You check Twitter Grader more than once a day.

7.  You get upset when less than 300 people have followed you… in just one day!

6.  You stay up later than you should, just to follow a “few” more Tweeters, oh and that one too, just one more, ah, now there’s a good one…wait, I see another.

5.  You unfollow people, just to follow them back so that your Twitter icon is catapulted to the beginning of their follower list, thereby giving you more exposure. Cha-ching!

4.  You’ve resigned yourself to Auto-follow with a spammy DM message!

3.  When someone following 300 people, or less, follows you there entire home page fills up with just your Tweets.

2.  You’ve given up going to people’s profiles before you follow them as long as they have a decent picture.

1.  You follow them even if they have a scary picture!

 

Thanks for stopping by, and by all means, if your not following me on Twitter yet, you can do so here: @OutsideMyBrain

BTW have you seen this funny video:  Twitter Whore with Lisa Nova

— YOU HAVE MY PERMISSION TO RETWEET THIS POST —

Can you think of any that I missed?  Leave yours in the comments!

19 Responses

  1. twittergrader, twitterholic, twittercounter, retweetrank – boy the list really goes on and boy are they overused. I thought it was fun to see my name as #1 in France, but then realized that I gained nothing from it. For some reason we like to be #1, so I am.

    I didn’t know that to unfollow/follow got you back to the beginning of their follower list. Too much work for me to do that.

    Stumbled.

  2. @Cindy, yes, the list does goes on doesn’t it? #1 in France? Well, Congratulations! That is quite the accomplishment and a yolk at the same time, because now you’ve got to do whatever it takes to stay there. lol

    Thanks for the Stumble!

  3. Outside —

    I’m so new to Twitter I’m afraid I don’t relate to these. I am, however, afraid I soon will.

    — Daniel

  4. Hi,
    Great list! :o)

    And yes – I recognized a few things on it – already… =:o)
    Quite addicting & Fun!

    http://twitter.com/hansfredrik

  5. ThankYouJesus – only one I can be close to. I know what you mean — for sure!! Funny I like your posts so much and you are a cat person! (ha ha)

  6. @Daniel: Just give it a little time! lol

    @Hans: Thanks for the comment. It’s been a joy getting to know you on Twitter!

    @Lady O Trout: Thanks for leaving a comment. I’m glad you like my posts. Yes, I am definitely a cat person! lol

  7. Number 5 is a handy tip, if you’re a twitter whore, which I’m not ;)

  8. I can’t picture a day when you get 300 followers in one day… It would just boggle me. I have stayed up late in order to follow tweets though. I don’t check TwitterGrader because I kind of prefer my follow list to be smaller so I can keep up with people. :)

  9. Great post. I have mixed feelings about Twittter.
    But I did enjoy reading this thanks
    Stumbled

  10. One that would be really good (and no offense to comments previous) is:

    You use the @ symbol in other areas besides twitter to the same effect.

  11. I like Twitterphile more than Twitter Whore!

  12. Twitter have taken the most mundane part of Facebook and made it interesting. I discovered TeetDeck today, via a Twitter, and it is, as they say here in the UK, the Dog’s.

    Andy.

  13. I am not a whore!

  14. @Stephen: Handy tip indeed! ;-) Glad to know where you stand. lol

    @Laura Hale: We all have to start small on Twitter. It’s nice to have a small follow list to keep track of everyone, however, to maximize the potential of one’s Twitter reach, one would need a lot of followers. Unless one is already a “guru”, one’s follower base will remain relatively small if one doesn’t reciprocate their followers by following back.

    HERE’S A TIP: If you use TweetDeck, you can create groups of certain people you follow, so that only their Tweets will show up in that stream of Tweets. This can help single out specific people that you want to watch, so as, to not miss their Tweets.

    @John Sullivan: I’m glad you enjoyed reading the article through your mixed feelings. Thanks for the Stumble! I appreciate you.

    @billyadams: lol. I’ve actually seen that one on a “Twitterhaulic” post somewhere. Similar to yours, they talked about speaking to their family members by audibly saying the “@” symbol and then their names. Thank you for your comment!

    @lee: Twitterphile…. that’s funny! I’m not sure which word conjures up a worse picture… Twitter Whore or Twitterphile. lol. I think I’ll stick with Twitter Whore. Thanks!

    @Andy R: Great observation, about Twitter making the mundane part of Facebook interesting. TweekDeck is an amazing tool by the way! Thanks for the comment!

    @Arnold – Mr.Gadget: I can see you now, with both your hands raised and your fingers making the victory sign, sounding off in perfect Richard Nixon pitch… “I am not a whore”. ROFL. Thanks for the laugh!

  15. You know you’re a twitter whore when your spouse wants to set up a computer in the other room so they can tweet with you.

  16. Wow, sounds like you know a whole lot more about twitter than I do. Enjoyed this post, thanks.

    peace,
    mike
    livelife365

  17. Loved it – great words that seem to be based on experiance! I can relate to many of the 10 and I have not given in to the auto responder. I did however this weekend send out a massive thank you! Just too lazy to comment on everyone.

    Michael Bristol

  18. @learnsmallbusiness: Ha, that’s a good one. My wife and I, she goes by @Truthoughts, like to exchange Tweets. lol. I’ve seen other couples Tweeting together as well. It’s a lot of fun. So I can certainly see the lure of setting up another computer just to be able to Tweet together… but, does it have to be in the other room? lol.

    @Mike Foster: Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

    @Michael Bristol: It’s nice to meet you (here and on Twitter). Glad you loved the post. I’ve come to the conclusion that it is okay to use an auto-responder.

    Just don’t use the pre-suggested one given by SocialToo that says, “You could send a message like this too, ask me about SocialToo” – FAIL

    And, don’t send a message with a link to your affiliate program, MLM site or something like that. – FAIL

    Do use the <> option, because it makes it personal and be as creative as possible. Hope that helps!

  19. [...] Bradley’s OutsideMY Brain [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

